Contact us: 800.266.4911
The Alliance    |    SCIP |    Kairos

Forgot Password
Register for Access



D. Scott Little, MBA, Board President
Scott Little is the chief financial officer for Amphitheater Public Schools. Scott received both his bachelor's degree in finance and his MBA from Louisiana State University. He is a member of the Arizona Department of Education's School Finance Advisory Committee.

Thomas Tyree, MEd, Board Vice President
Tom Tyree is the superintendent of STEDY CTED. Tom received his bachelor of arts degree and his master's degree in secondary education from the University of Arizona.

Lana Berry, CPA, Board Secretary
Lana Berry is the chief financial officer at Chandler Unified School District #80. She received her bachelor's degree in accounting from Colorado State University, and began working in the education arena in Arizona in 2000. Lana's experiences include teaching, coaching, and administration.

Karin Ward, MEdL, Board Treasurer.
Karin Ward has been the superintendent for Beaver Creek School District in Yavapai County for the past 11 years. Karin received her bachelor of science degree from Arizona State University and her master's degree in educational leadership from Northern Arizona University. She has been an Arizona educator since 1981.

Jami Van Ess, CPA, MBA
Jami Van Ess is the vice president of business and administrative services for Coconino Community College in Flagstaff. Prior to joining the college in 1998, she was the vice president for administrative services at Sauk Valley Community College in Dixon, Illinois. She received her bachelor of science degree in accountancy from Northern Arizona University, and her master of business administration (MBA) degree from the University of Phoenix. She is also a certified public accountant.

Lupita Ley Hightower, EdD
Lupita Hightower is the superintendent for Tolleson Elementary School District No. 17. She has worked for over 20 years in education in various roles: teacher, mentor/coach, assistant principal, district-level director, assistant superintendent, and superintendent. Lupita received her bachelor’s degree with a bilingual endorsement from the University of Arizona, and her master’s and doctoral degrees from Arizona State University.

Scott Thompson
Scott Thompson is the assistant superintendent of business services for Mesa Public Schools. Scott has over 10 years of work experience in the field of education handling all matters related to business services. Prior to joining Mesa Public Schools, Scott, worked as the General Manager for Safeguard Security and Communications. Scott received this Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Ken Hicks, MBA
Ken Hicks is the chief financial officer for Tolleson Union High School District. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Northern Arizona University and his master’s degree in public administration from Arizona State University. Ken is a past president of the Arizona Association of School Business Officials (AASBO) and a current member of the Arizona Auditor General’s School Finance Advisory Committee.

Bonnie J. Betz, MBA
Bonnie J. Betz is the assistant superintendent for business services at Gilbert Public Schools. She was formerly the CFO for Douglas County School District in Colorado and the CFO for Tucson Unified School District. She earned her bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from the University of California, San Diego and her MBA from the University of Arizona, Eller College.

Isela Brown, MBA
Isela Brown is the chief financial officer with Santa Cruz Valley USD No. 35 and has been with the district since 2004. She graduated from the University of Arizona with a degree in finance and from the University of Phoenix with a master’s degree in business administration. Additionally, Ms. Brown served on the ASBAIT board for 7 years.

Dr. Jennifer Cruz
Dr. Jennifer Cruz has served as the Pendergast Elementary School District superintendent since 2021, having previously served as the Chief Academic Officer and other roles in the Educational Services Department in the District. She graduated from ASU with bachelors and doctorate degrees. Dr. Cruz has been a teacher, principal, Federal Programs Manager, assistant superintendent, and more during her tenure in education.

Pursuant to A.R.S. 38-431.02(A)(1) through (4), the board meeting agenda will be accessible to the public as outlined below:

  1. Electronically, click here.
  2. Physically, on the board room wall at 333 East Osborn Road, Suite 100, Phoenix, AZ 85012. This location is open to the public Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except legal holidays.
Pursuant to A.R.S. 38-431.02(C) and (G), the electronic and physical agendas mentioned above will be accessible 24 hours prior to the board meeting.

If you are interested in attending, please contact us at to (602) 266-4911 or

Board Meeting Agenda and Minutes